Trilive Review

Project:Trilive Review
District:D19 Northeast- Hougang
Region:Outside Central Region (OCR)
Address:111 Tampines Road
Tenure:Freehold
Site Area:78,030 sqft / 7,249 sqm
No. of Units:217 Residential + 2 Shops
Expected T.O.P:2018
Developer:Roxy Pacific Holdings Limited
PSF ($):1300 - 1800
Information to Note

Update (27/06/2014): The project seems to be off to a slow start, probably due to the off pricing.

Launch date: 21st June 2014, Saturday

Launching next to The Tembusu project at the Kovan area, the Trilive project seems to be wanting to ride on the coat tails of The Tembusu's success.

Formerly known as Yi Mei Garden, the site of the new Trilive residential project is a freehold plot located at 111 Tampines Road. 

Located in the laidback Kovan area, the Trilive is separated from The Tembusu project by the Fortune Park condominium (which now looks like a very likely enbloc candidate to us). Both Tembusu and Trilive being freehold, we expect the developers, Roxy Pacific Holdings Limited to price this project in line with The Tembusu, though we would not pay more for Trilive than an equivalent unit at The Tembusu due to its poorer location farther away from Kovan MRT. As of end April 2014, The Tembusu is 81.6% sold with 62 units remaining out of a total of 337 units. 

If you would like to work with our ProperSquare team to purchase a unit, or you have a question that we have not answered in our review, do drop us a call/SMS at 9081-5456 or email us at contactus@propersquare.com and we will get in touch with you shortly. Thank you for supporting our site and reviews!

Sincerely,

Team@ProperSquare

 

Developer's Sales kit, here:  Download Brochure

External (Location)

Surroundings (General)

Kovan is generally a more laid-back area of Singapore with a high proportion of private residences. Located to the east of Paya Lebar Air base which is scheduled to move out by 2030 and with the Defu Industrial Estate being redeveloped with new and modern industrial complexes over the next 15 to 20 years (first phase expected completion: 2017), the potential of this area is significant. Though we do think with an average psf asking price of $1,544 for the Tembusu, most of this potential has probably been baked into the prices here.

 

Bonus: Old photo of the Simon Road area in the 1980s

 

  

Amenities

Most amenities for the Trilive will require some walking distance to get to (except for the two commercial units located at the Trilive). Walking distance (from front gate) to Kovan’s Heartland Mall (where most of the amenities are located) is about 700 meters. And this is the distance you will be walking to reach Kovan MRT as well. A more reasonable 300 meters walk will bring you to some mom and pop shops and a coffeeshop at Block 23 along Upper Serangoon Road just opposite Serangoon JC. Or you can choose to have your meals at the shophouses that stretch along Upper Serangoon Road and accessbile via Jalan Rengkam (walking distance: around 400m). The shophouses along Upper Serangoon Road (near the junction of Simon Road) house many eateries as well. The famous Punggol Nasi Lemak is here. There is also Domino’s Pizza (one of our favourite pizzerias!)

At the Kovan MRT area, we will find many mom and pop shops alongside modern shops at the ground level of the HDB blocks there. These mom and pop shops are spread out over a large area along Hougang Street 21. Along the way to Kovan MRT, you will encounter many of these shops if you decide to cut through the low rise HDB blocks.

Kovan Market and Food Centre is located next to Heartland Mall and houses a wet market and hawker food stalls selling delicious hawker fare at very affordable heartland prices. Heartland Mall houses your standard mall retail fare. A Cold Storage supermarket will satisfy the groceries needs. A vehicle would definitely be needed for heavy groceries shopping though. We cannot imagine that walking 750 metres while lugging heavy groceries would be any comfort at all.

For entertainment, there is also a Super Bowl (425 metres) which also houses an arcade. Bowling, anyone? Great for those evenings where you want to head out nearby for some fun. For nature lovers, the serene Serangoon Park Connector which runs alongside the Sungei Serangoon river should be a good sanctuary as well.

There is definitely no lack of amenities in the Kovan area. The issue is Trilive’s location and fairly lengthy walking distance to these amenities. 

 

Transport (MRT/Buses)

Kovan MRT station is a very lengthy 750 meters walking distance away, roughly an eleven minutes’ walk. The alternative is to cross an overhead bridge and take bus service 112 for one bus stop to Kovan MRT station. Once at the MRT, the North East Line links easily to the City via the Dhoby Ghaut and Outram Park interchange stations and will enable easy transit to the east and west via the Circle Line interchange at Serangoon one stop away.

The future Cross Island MRT Line (abbreviated: CRL) will be passing through Hougang town. However, final alignment has not yet been announced and we think the Cross Island Line is most likely to use Hougang MRT station as an interchange station rather than the less popular Kovan station. 

 

Buses:

There are a total of three buses serving the bus stop along Tampines Road

Bus Service

From / To

Frequency

Areas served

53

Bishan Int (Loop)

6 – 12 mins

Serangoon, Lor Ah Soo, Tampines Road, Pasir Ris Dr 1, Changi Airport

62

Punggol Temp Int (Loop)

7 – 20 mins

Seng Kang East Dr, Hougang. Upper Paya Lebar, Aljunied

112

Hougang Ctrl Int

10 – 15 mins

Hougang

However, walking a short distance to the bus stop along Hougang Ave 3 will yield much more bus services. These buses include bus services 25, 51, 55, 72, 81, 115 and 854 serving areas including Ang Mio Kio, Bedok, Hougang, Jurong East, Bishan, Marine Parade, Yio Chu Kang, Tampines, Serangoon and Yishun.

 

Driving

Drivers can use Upper Serangoon Road to access both the CTE and PIE expressways. The KPE (accessbile via Tampines Road) is also an alternative if you find the CTE too congested. In general, drivers will find themselves within easy driving distance of places in the North, East and Central region of Singapore. No complaints about the road accessibility here unless you have to travel to the West region often.

 

Schools

There are many schools in the Hougang and Serangoon area. Below we list the schools that are within easy travelling distance of the Trilive.

  • CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity (Primary) (<2km)
  • Holy Innocents’ Primary School* (<1km)
  • Montfort Junior School* (<2km)
  • Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School* (Primary) (<2km)
  • Punggol Primary School* (<2km)
  • Xinghua Primary School* (<1km)
  • Xinmin Primary School (<2km)
  • Holy Innocents High School
  • Montfort Secondary School
  • Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary)
  • St Gabriel Secondary School
  • Xinmin Secondary School*
  • Yuying Secondary School
  • Zhonghua Secondary School*
  • Nanyang Junior College
  • Serangoon Junior College

The * denotes schools that are reputed and requires balloting (for primary schools) and above average grades for entry (for secondary schools).

  

External (Pricing)

Update (3rd June 2014):

If the indicative pricing released is accurate, we feel that the Trilive project is being unrealistically priced in the current property market climate. Sorry, Roxy Pacific. But we sincerely think the good old days where you mark up a new development based on previous neighbouring launches (The Tembusu) are no longer around. Maybe somewhere in the future. But not today. Even if we calculate a theoretical 5% discount, the pricing still looks expensive to us. Unless the developer give a 7 to 8% discount off the indicative prices to make the prices more palatable, we don’t think smart buyers will be biting. 

 Just for our readers' information, $1,600 psf is reaching D'Leedon, Commonwealth Towers and Redhill area pricing, though those  are 99 year leasehold projects. We do not think the Kovan area justifies this kind of pricing at all, even if it is freehold. 

 

To get an indication of the pricing region that Trilive should be launching at, we will take a look at the surrounding developments in the area. And hopefully, the developer will not get too greedy and price it out of range.

Tembusu: Launched in July 2013, the development has sold 81% of its units as of the end of April 2014. 

Project average price: $1,544 psf project average (Up to April 2014)

Price Range: $1,209 to $1,748

 

Fortune Park: Completed in 1996 with 68 units, the 18 years old Fortune Park will be bearing the brunt of the construction of The Tembusu and Trilive for the next few years. Private caveats lodged between May 2011 to May 2014 below:

 

Kovan Grandeur: 99 year leasehold project completed in 2012 with 74 units spread over several 5 storey blocks. Private caveats lodged from May 2011 to May 2014 below:

 

Nearer to Kovan MRT, we have the Kovan Melody, Kovan Residences, Kovan Regency and Bliss @ Kovan condominiums.

Kovan Melody: Located right beside Kovan MRT station, this 99 year leashold condominium was completed in 2006. It comprises of 778 units in 17-storey blocks.

Kovan Residences: Completed in 2011 with 521 units, Kovan Residences is also located beside Kovan MRT station and right beside Kovan Melody.

Kovan Regency: A higher privacy 99 year leasehold project located at Kovan Rise, the 393 units Kovan Regency is slated for TOP by 2016.

6 months’ Data as of May 2014:

 

 

 

Development (Building)

Site Plan:

 

For Building Unit Distribution, please download the floorplan pdf here.

 

Analysis of site / actual land site

Flanked by Fortune Park on the west and terrace houses on the east, Tampines Road to the south and HDB blocks to the north, the Trilive will have 222 residential units spread among three blocks (Blocks 111, 113 and 115). Blocks 111 and 113 will be aligned parallel to Tampines Road and the south facing units in these two blocks will bear the brunt of traffic noise. For peace and quiet, buyers will have to look to the inside facing units of block 111 and 113 or take any unit in block 115. The area will be generally quiet with the exception of low flying aircraft landing and taking off at nearby Paya Lebar Airbase (scheduled to move out by 2030), though the area is not directly under the flight paths.

 

Building Architecture

The design of Trilive is simple and clean. No attempt to stand out, which will sit well with conservative buyers. The carpark is above ground, occupying the three stories below the sky terrace and swimming pool level. It simply looks less classy to us to have the carpark above ground though it will ensure ample parking space.

 

Quality of Air/Noise/Light

The Trilive will be sitting in a mainly north south facing orientation. This will help to avoid the afternoon sun coming from the west issue which many buyers dislike. Blocks 111 and 113’s north facing units will still get hit by afternoon sun, but at a very narrow angle.

Tampines Road is a heavily trafficked road during peak hours, though the section outside Trilive is usually less busy due to motorists filtering from and into Hougang Avenue 3 instead of using the section of Tampines road outside Trilive.  

 We estimate the distance of the south facing units to be about 25 to 30 metres from the busy Tampines Road. Not a comfortable distance to the three lane road.

  

Facilities

Full suite of facilities, though we think that with the 222 units (especially with so many DK units), the facilities might see tight usage during peak periods. To note: Sky pool is only 30 meters in length and the gym looks positively small. 

 

Final Thoughts/ Summary

The Trilive has nothing much that stands out to us, except its freehold status. And that makes us further question its high psf pricing relative to even The Tembusu (also freehold) which has a better location and still has available (albeit) units as of June 2014.

Until the pricing drops to match that of The Tembusu, we would advise buyers to avoid the Trilive’s irrational pricing.

If you are interested in the Tembusu or other projects in the vicinity, do let us know via contactus@propersquare.com or +65 9081-5456 and our team will be ready to help you evaluate your options further. At the same time, your property purchase through us will help us to keep this great review site running and make the local property landscape a better one for everyone!

Thank you for your support for the ProperSquare site and reviews!

Sincerely,

Team ProperSquare

 

 

Reviewed on 30 May 2014
Leave your contact details
and we will be in touch shortly.
Or Call/SMS us at +65 9081-5456
* Mandatory Fields